Dirt

I love, love, love to play in the dirt. I always have. As a kid, I was a bit of a mud-pie chef. I was very particular about mixing the proper amount of dirt and water, tossing in some blades of grass for texture, then forming the perfect mud-pie in a miniature cake pan or pie pan. I guess I got pretty dirty. I don’t remember it much, but I get unbelievably dirty these days working in my garden.

I don’t like to wear gloves when I garden, so my hands and nails are a mess for most of the growing season. Every year I have to give myself a planti-cure. That’s like a manicure, but completely different. I cut my nails as short as possible so they’re easier to clean. It’s no great loss because I’m not one of those well-manicured girls. And I spend so much time scrubbing my nails, I’ll do what it takes to get them clean. Except for wearing gloves.

It’s just dirt.

Leave a Reply

