Songs for a rainy day

It has been raining for two days. There’s a stream running through the back of my yard, where there should be no stream. The robins are hopping around, in the grass. This kind of soaking rain brings the earthworms to the surface – a veritable feast for the robins! There have been a lot of dark clouds, lightning and thunder, but not much wind. That’s why there aren’t any whitecaps in the backyard pond.

Inevitably, I begin singing songs from Winnie the Pooh and the Blustery Day when we have wet or stormy weather. (“And the rain, rain, rain came down, down, down…”) I love Pooh and the rest of the folks in the Hundred Acre Wood, but I think I’d like to sing about the sun.

Click on the blue text to catch videos on YouTube.

Good day sunshine… Good day sunshine… Good day sunshine… I need to laugh, and when the sun is out, I’ve got something I can laugh about…

Sunny day. Sweepin’ the clouds away…

Sun is shinin’ in the sky. There ain’t a cloud in sight. It’s stopped rainin’. Everybody’s in a play, and don’t you know, it’s a beautiful new day.

I’ve been waiting so long – to be where I’m going. In the sunshine of your love.

Look all around – there’s nothin’ but blue skies. Look straight ahead – nothin’ but blue skies.

Now I’m walking on sunshine, whoooaa. I’m walking on sunshine, whoooaa. I’m walking on sunshine, whoooaa. And don’t it feel good! Hey, all right now! And don’t it feel good! Hey, yeah!

Here comes the sun. Here comes the sun, and I say, it’s all right.

Lazin’ on a sunny afternoon. In a summertime. In a summertime. In a summertime.

Let me go on… like I blister in the sun.

But if the offer’s shunned you might as well be walkin’ on the sun.

I know I missed some. Let me know if I left out your favorite “sun” song.

 

Leave a comment