Pizza time

The title of this blog illustrates the broad selection of topics I’ll write about it. I think I’ll go ahead and talk about pizza today. First of all, I don’t have a favorite type of pizza. I like N.Y. style thin, Chicago pan, wood-fired artisanal – even those individual English muffin pizzas we made with our childhood friends during sleepovers.

As for toppings, I’m a meat and cheese girl. I do not like green/bell/sweet peppers or onions on my pizza. (I don’t like bell peppers at all.) Tomatoes, zuke, squash, artichoke hearts are ok pizza veggies. I would rather have pepperoni and sausage with double cheese.

My favorite meat and cheese pizza: Chicago stuffed pizzDSC_1067a with sausage, courtesy of Giordano’s on Rush Street. Uno does an ok deep dish, and there’s one right down the street, but it’s not Giordano’s. We have a tradition with Giordano’s and Chicago: Our first meal in the city will be at Giordano’s. The picture on the right is from our last trip to the Windy City, circa December 2011. And look at it… Wow! That’s some good-lookin’ ‘za. And no normal person can eat more than two pieces. Seriously.

For all the folks who say you can like either New York or Chicago style pizza, I say, bologna! It’s like saying you have to choose between apples and bananas. They’re not even the same. I’ll take a cheese or a cheese and pepperoni slice of New York thin pizza. Served with a little grease and some extra napkins. Fold it in half and enjoy! You don’t eat a slice with a knife and fork any more than you eat deep dish with your hands. The extra bonus from that slice: a slight garlic scent that sticks with you for the rest of the day.

A tasty wood-fired pizza has a nice char on the bottom and a couple of big puffy spots in the dough. I don’t care for the “less is more” method of topping these pizzas, since I think “more is more” with pizza toppings. These fancy pizzas are more like decorated bread than pizza. Sure, you can get some great combinations of pancetta and fig and arugula and fresh mozzarella, but if you’re jonesin’ for pizza, it will not satisfy.

We make pizza a lot at home. My husband makes the dough and we both choose toppings. I like pesto, chicken, provolone and thinly sliced Roma tomatoes. I like banana peppers, Italian sausage, pepperoni, salami, soppressata and crispy bacon too, but the pesto and chicken has been my preference the last few times we’ve made it. Sometimes I put sauce on my homemade pizzas, but I make killer pesto and keep it in the freezer for times like this.

So for those who choose only one type of pizza, whatever floats your boat. I see no reason to pick just one when there are so many tasty options.

Leave a Reply

