Can we talk?

“Never talk about politics or religion.” I’ve heard that before, and I’m pretty sure that rule is for someone else. Why not talk about politics or religion? I thoroughly enjoy a spirited debate on a complex topic. I don’t mean flinging around sound bites or emotional crap. I’m talking about a well-thought, fact-based discussion.

In a civilized society, shouldn’t we be able to discuss abortion without slugging someone? You hate “Obamacare,” yet you can’t explain to me what it is – exactly – that you hate. The Second Amendment means anyone can have any kind of gun they want, and I’ll shoot ya if you say otherwise. There are very few absolutes in life, yet each of these three topics will illicit completely vehement responses. But what is the truth? What is the reality?

In reality, abortion is legal in the United States. Citizens have a Constitutional right to own guns. And the number of uninsured Americans is declining because of the Affordable Care Act. Those are truths. Our feelings on these topics will vary, but they, too, come from truths.

I believe abortion is very personal. It’s my own business whether or not I obtain an abortion. It’s not my business if you do. That’s my truth.

I believe in the Constitution. I believe America is a great – THE great – country. I don’t own a gun because I don’t want to own one. I believe I have the right to shop at the  mall or have a drink at the bar without wondering if the guy next to me is carrying a firearm. I have the right to feel safe. I’m smart and I allow our law-enforcement agencies to do their jobs. That’s my truth.

I believe Americans must be educated and healthy in order to compete in our global marketplace. The Affordable Care Act is making it possible for more people to access health care. I look forward to a time when more people have access to quality education. That’s my truth.

So if you want to talk, let me know. It doesn’t have to be a debate, but if it is, bring your “A” game.

Leave a Reply

