Spring

Spring is here. How do I know? Seeds and seed potatoes arrived yesterday! Woohoo! It’s time to play in the dirt.

What am I planting this year? Corn, beans, carrots, onions, lettuces, spinach, potatoes, poblano peppers and lots of flowers. Since spring doesn’t officially arrive until Thursday, I’ve still got time to prep my dirt. I prepped my lettuce bed last week, and now seeds are in the dirt!

IMG_0848I like to turn over the top 4 or 5 inches, add some peat moss and turn it again. I’ll use my garden claw or rake to break up the big clumps and my hand rake to smooth it out. I like to do a mini earthworm inventory during this process. Happy worms mean happy dirt, so I’m always pretty excited to see lots of worms.

As I’m planting seeds, I envision how everything will look in a couple of months. I’ll use sticks and string to mark where I’ve planted seeds because I won’t be able to plant herbs and tomatoes for at least another month.

By July fourth, I’ll have mature potatoes and beans. My corn will be at least knee-high, and I’ll be harvesting salads for meals.

Oh, the anticipation… Celebrate Spring!

Leave a Reply

